header about us

header MI PretoriaU

The University of Pretoria’s strategic plan, UP 2025, states that the Institution is committed to providing an environment in which its students can flourish, succeed and self-actualise. This means that they receive strong academic tuition in traditional settings. To be ready for the world of work and business currently and in future, students receive an education that enables them to be technology-savvy, have values consistent with those of the University, and understand the importance of building strong communities. At the University of Pretoria hybrid learning (i.e. learning in class, online and community settings) is therefore integral to ensuring success. Working in communities does not simply complement the learning process; it is a powerful way of demonstrating compassion and social responsibility in real and useful ways. The University Social Responsibility Programme is a vital link between students and communities, a great opportunity to learn in situ, contribute to social justice, and do the right thing.

Each Faculty embeds community engagement in its curricula. For example, the Faculty of Engineering, Built Environment and IT presents a compulsory undergraduate community engagement module. The Faculty of Health Sciences through its teaching programme provides vital services for poor and under-serviced communities across the country. The Centre for Child Law in the Faculty of Law contributes towards the establishment and promotion of the best interests of children through litigation, advocacy, research and education. The University of Pretoria plays a leading role in the Hatfield City Improvement District, in partnership with the City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality. Relevant authorities, including the South African Police Service, Metro Police, Emergency Services and Tshwane Metro Council work together to create a safe, clean and environmentally friendly community around campus.

To learn more about USR at University of Pretoria, please visit http://www.up.ac.za/usr


 UP 1 UP 2 UP 3 UP 4

UP 5 UP 6